Pakistan vs South Africa: South Africa Arrive For First Pakistan Tour In 14 Years | Cricket News

Pakistan vs South Africa: South Africa Arrive For First Pakistan Tour In 14 Years

The South African cricket team arrived in Karachi on Saturday to play two Tests and three Twenty20 internationals on their first tour of Pakistan in 14 years. The staff, led by wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock, was whisked from the airport underneath state-head stage safety accorded by the hosts, the Pakistan Cricket Board. The 21-member squad had two Covid-19 checks earlier than their departure from Johannesburg which all got here again damaging, and they are going to be additional examined on their arrival. Officials say the squad will keep in particular person isolation till the outcomes of the primary spherical of testing are launched earlier than they begin coaching in a floor adjoining to their lodge.

Pakistan and South Africa will play the primary Test in Karachi from January 26.

The second Test begins in Rawalpindi from February four whereas Lahore will host all three Twenty20 internationals on February 11, 13 and 14.

South Africa’s head coach Mark Boucher has confirmed satisfaction with the safety preparations in Pakistan.

“We’ve had our (security) guys go there (to Pakistan) and do a recce of the situation and they have said it is safe,” Boucher advised reporters forward of the staff’s departure on Friday.

“So from my side there are no issues, we have to get back there and start playing cricket,” mentioned Boucher, a part of South Africa’s final tour to Pakistan in 2007.

International cricket was suspended in Pakistan following a terrorist assault on the Sri Lankan staff bus in Lahore in March 2009.


Pakistan has step by step hosted groups once more within the final 5 years earlier than Test cricket was revived in late 2019 when Sri Lanka toured for 2 Tests. 

South Africa squad: Quinton de Kock (captain), Temba Bavuma, Aiden Markram, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Kagiso Rabada, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Rassie van der Dussen, Anrich Nortje, Wiaan Mulder, Lutho Sipamla, Beuran Hendricks, Kyle Verreynne, Sarel Erwee, Keegan Petersen, Tabraiz Shamsi, George Linde, Daryn Dupavillon, Marco Jansen

Topics talked about on this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: