PAK vs SA: Heinrich Klaasen To Lead South Africa In T20I Series Against Pakistan | Cricket News

Heinrich Klaasen Surprised After Being Nominated For CSAs Top ODI Honour

Cricket South Africa (CSA) introduced on Tuesday batsman and wicketkeeper Heinrich Klaasen will captain the facet in subsequent month’s three-match Twenty20 worldwide sequence in Pakistan. The 18-man squad consists of solely 4 of the 21 gamers presently in Pakistan for 2 Test matches, all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius, left-arm spin bowlers Tabraiz Shamsi and George Linde in addition to quick bowler Lutho Sipamla.

The bulk of the Test squad will return to South Africa after the Pakistan Tests finish on February eight with a purpose to bear a Covid-19 quarantine interval and to organize for a deliberate residence sequence in opposition to Australia.

CSA director of cricket, Graeme Smith, stated the choice mirrored the problem of fulfilling obligations in occasions of the coronavirus. 

“We have had to do a bit of outside-of-the-box thinking to ensure that we are fully prepared for a home Test tour against Australia, while having an exciting T20 series in Pakistan,” he stated.

Smith stated plans for managing the teaching and assist employees for the competing sequence had been being finalised. 

“It’s an example of the measures that some cricket nations will have to put in place to ensure that they can squeeze more than one tour in a period of three or four months, while fulfilling Covid-19 protocol obligations,” stated Smith.

Batsmen Ryan Rickleton and Jacques Snyman and quick bowlers Okhule Cele and Nandre Burger have been referred to as as much as a nationwide squad for the primary time, whereas quick bowler Glenton Stuurman, who missed a latest Test sequence in opposition to Sri Lanka due to damage, will get one other alternative to win a primary worldwide cap.

A press release from CSA stated journey plans can be introduced later. The Test squad had to make use of a chartered flight after their industrial flights had been cancelled a day earlier than departure.

The three matches will all be performed in Lahore, on February 11, 13 and 14.


Squad: Heinrich Klaasen (captain), Nandre Burger, Okuhle Cele, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, George Linde, Janneman Malan, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Ryan Rickleton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Jon-Jon Smuts, Jacques Snyman, Glenton Stuurman, Pite van Biljon.

(This story has not been edited by The Source employees and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Topics talked about on this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: