New Zealand, France Clash In Heavyweight 2023 Rugby World Cup Opener | Other Sports News

New Zealand, France Clash In Heavyweight 2023 Rugby World Cup Opener

New Zealand will dive straight into the deep finish after they open their bid for a fourth World Cup title towards hosts France within the opening recreation of the 2023 match, based on the fixture schedule revealed Friday. The All Blacks, champions in 1987, 2011 and 2015, face Les Bleus on the Stade de France in Paris on September 8, the primary day of the gruelling seven-week match.

The remaining will probably be on the Stade de France on October 28.

New Zealand and France are in Pool A together with Six Nations whipping boys Italy and two qualifiers – one from the Americas and one from Africa – and are anticipated to comfortably make the quarter-finals.

The winner of the group will face the runner-up of Pool B, a tricky part which options defending champions South Africa, Ireland and Scotland.

France and the All Blacks have met eight occasions on the World Cup.

In 2011, New Zealand received their pool conflict 37-17 earlier than edging the ultimate in Auckland 8-7.

The French can boast two wins over the triple world champions on the match — 43-31 within the 1999 semi-finals and 20-18 within the final eight in 2007.

Both video games are considered fashionable classics.

“France v New Zealand, I’ve been dreaming of it since I started working on the World Cup. The best possible match, we’ll have it on the first day. It will allow us to start the competition, to provide a benchmark of attractiveness,” Claude Atcher, director basic of the organising committee, informed AFP.

“It’s a very special match, in a very special context. No room for error. 

“Without insulting our Italian cousins, will probably be troublesome for Italy to problem these two groups for second place within the pool.”

South Africa start their defence against Scotland on September 10 at Marseille’s Stade Velodrome. 

The team of Cheslin Kolbe and Siya Kolisi face Ireland on September 23 at the Stade de France.

Ireland and Scotland meet also in Paris on October 7.

England, the 2003 world champions, begin their Pool D campaign against Argentina in Marseille on September 9, the second day of the tournament.

Japan, also in Pool D, start in Toulouse the following day against an America zone qualifier.

Pool C sees Wales and Australia as favourites to progress but they will be wary of the challenge of Fiji who they meet respectively on September 10 in Bordeaux and September 17 in Saint-Etienne.


In total, the 2023 World Cup features 48 matches and nine host cities — Paris, Marseille, Nice, Lille, Toulouse, Lyon, Bordeaux, Saint-Etienne and Nantes. 

“Each metropolis hosts a minimum of one of many groups which certified for the quarter-finals in Japan in 2019,” stated Atcher.

Topics talked about on this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: