India vs Sri Lanka: India Continue Unbeaten Streak With Emphatic Win Over Sri Lanka | Cricket News

Womens T20 World Cup: India Continue Unbeaten Streak With Emphatic Win Over Sri Lanka

Shafali, then, top-scored as India chased down the target in just 14.4 overs. 

The win meant India entered the semifinals with an all-win report. This was India’s fourth successive victory within the match because the Harmanpreet Kaur-led aspect consolidated their place on prime of the group with eight factors. 

The 16-year-old Shafali, who was dropped twice within the second and fourth over, hit seven fours and a six in her knock however was unable to achieve her maiden fifty for the second time within the match, getting run-out within the 11th over. 

She had scored 46 in opposition to New Zealand in her earlier outing. Kaur and opener Smriti Mandhana once more squandered their good begins, departing for 15 and 17, respectively. 

Mandhana mistimed the ball to Kavisha Dilhari within the fifth over whereas the skipper departed whereas attempting to clear the lengthy on fielder within the 10th over. 

For Sri Lanka, Udeshika Prabodhani (1/13) and Shashikala Siriwardene (1/42)picked up a wicket every, earlier than the duo of Jemimah Rodrigues (15) and Deepti Sharma (15) sealed the victory.

Earlier, Sri Lanka have been dealt a blow when opener Umesha Thimashini (2) tried to go for a giant shot off a Deepti Sharma supply, solely to be caught by Rajeshwari Gayakwad within the third over. 

In-from skipper Atapattu (33) continued to assault, hitting 5 fours and a six, and stitched a 30-run partnership with Harshitha Madavi (12). 

However, left-arm spinner Gayakwad tightened the screws within the eighth over, bowling a wicket maiden whereas dismissing Madavi. 

The introduction of Radha within the ninth over labored as instantly after hitting a six over deep wicket, the Sri Lankan captain was caught at sq. leg. 

Sri Lanka then suffered a batting collapse as Radha accounted for Hansima Karunaratne (7) and Hasini Perera (7) in her subsequent over. She additionally dismissed wicket-keeper Anushka Sanjeewani (1). 

The Indian spinners dominated the proceedings as in addition to Radha, Gayakwad (2/18) picked up two wickets, whereas Deepti (1/16), Shikha Pandey (1/35), and Poonam Yadav (1/20) took one apiece.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: