Federation Cup Athletics: Dhanalakshmi Beats Dutee Chand To Win 100m Gold, Hima Das Disqualified After False Start | Athletics News

Federation Cup Athletics: Dhanalakshmi Beats Dutee Chand To Win 100m Gold, Hima Das Disqualified After False Start

Dutee Chand was overwhelmed by S Dhanalakshmi of Tamil Nadu for 100m gold at Fed Cup.© AFP

National report holder Dutee Chand was overwhelmed to second place by S Dhanalakshmi, whereas Hima Das was disqualified after a false begin in a much-anticipated ladies’s 100m dash last within the Federation Cup Senior National Athletics Championships in Patiala on Tuesday. The 22-year-old Dhanalakshmi of Tamil Nadu took the gold by clocking 11.39 seconds forward of Dutee (11.58) of Odisha to change into the quickest lady of the championships on the second day of competitions on the NIS Campus. Another Tamil Nadu runner Archana Suseendran was third in 11.76.

This was after Hima, who was working within the shorter dash races of 100m and 200m as an alternative of her per occasion 400m, was disqualified after a false begin.

The much-anticipated last didn’t stay as much as the expectations as Hima was proven the purple card, whereas Dutee and Dhanalakshmi didn’t come wherever close to the Olympic qualification mark of 11.15 seconds.

Dhanalakshmi had certified for the finals because the quickest runner with a time of 11.38 within the preliminary spherical on Monday and she or he didn’t make any enchancment in her timing on Tuesday.

The similar was in case of Dutee, who had run 11.51 on Monday. Gurindervir Singh of Punjab received the boys’s 100m last in 10.32 seconds, whereas Elakkiyadasan Kannada of Tamil Nadu (10.43) and Maharashtra’s Satish Krishnakumar (10.56) have been second and third respectively.

National report holder Amiya Kumar Mallick of Odisha completed seventh with a time of 10.75.

Gurindervir had clocked a private greatest 10.30 seconds within the semifinals on Monday in a 3rd quickest time by an Indian sprinter.


The Olympics qualification time in males’s 100m is 10.05 seconds. Veteran M R Poovamma, representing Karnataka, took the gold in ladies’s 400m, successful the ultimate race in 53.57 seconds.

Tamil Nadu’s Subha Venkatesan (54.48) and Kiran Pahal of Haryana took the silver and bronze respectively. 

Topics talked about on this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: